Pelosi reveals “super congress” picks

Posted: August 11, 2011 in US News

Lucy Madison
CBS News
August 11, 2011

House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi announced her appointments to the bipartisan congressional “super committee” on Thursday , tapping Democratic Reps. Chris Van Hollen (Md.), Xavier Becerra (Calif.) and James Clyburn (S.C.) to join nine other lawmakers tasked with reducing the deficit by at least $1.2 trillion by Thanksgiving.

In a tweet announcing the selection, Pelosi said the three lawmakers will “focus on economic growth & job creation–which reduces deficit.”

The selection of the three House Democrats rounds out the bipartisan, 12-person group. Republican leaders in the House and the Senate announced their appointees on Wednesday. Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid made his decision public on Tuesday

House Speaker John Boehner tapped House Republican Conference Chairman Jeb Hensarling, R-Texas, to serve as co-chair of the committee. He also appointed House Ways and Means Committee Chairman Dave Camp, R-Mich., and House Energy and Commerce Committee Chairman Fred Upton, R-Mich., to the committee.

Senate Republican Leader Mitch McConnell appointed Sens. Jon Kyl (Ariz.) Pat Toomey (Pa.) and Rob Portman (Ohio). Reid named Sen. Patty Murray (Wash.) to co-chair the committee, and also appointed Sens. Max Baucus, (Mont.) and John Kerry (Mass.) to serve on it.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s